Become a member of South Bend Region

Join the South Bend Region! You can sign up to start your membership on the National SCCA website here. If you prefer paperwork, you can download the SBR membership application. Feel free to reach out to a membership chair at with any questions you might have. If you are already a member of another SCCA region, then you can add South Bend Region as a second region of membership. This will qualify you for all of our season ending trophies! Download the Dual Member application.

There are numerous ways to save on your membership. Read about them here.

SBR is governed by our Bylaws.

Monthly Meetings

When: First Tuesday of every month
Who: Members and guests are always warmly welcome at all SBR meetings
Time: Board Meeting at 6:00pm & Membership Meeting at 7:00pm (Eastern Time)
Where: Beef O'Bradys in Granger

South Bend Region Officers

Position Name Phone Email
Regional Executive Erika Engler
Assistant R.E Jeff Luckritz
Secretary Mark Manninen 574.271.0810
Treasurer Kim Bollinger 574.271.0088
Board Dave Gushwa 574.633.4538
Board Steve Bollinger 574.271.0088
Board Dennis Jennings 574.807.2216

Activity Points

South Bend Region provides recognition and rewards for your participation with any of our events.  Below you can find the links to the updated activity points for the current year, as well as year ending points for previous years. If you feel that any of your activities are missing, please email so we can correct any errors.

2017 SBR Activity Points
2016 SBR Activity Points
2015 SBR Activity Points
2014 SBR Activity Points
2013 SBR Activity Points
2012 SBR Activity Points
2011 SBR Activity Points
2010 SBR Activity Points
2009 SBR Activity Points
2008 SBR Activity Points
2007 SBR Activity Points
2006 SBR Activity Points
2005 SBR Activity Points
2004 SBR Activity Points
2003 SBR Activity Points

South Bend Region Traveling Trophies

At the annual awards banquet a series of trophies are handed out. While not all are awarded every year, they are all great honors. Below is a brief history of each of the awards.

B. J. Swanson

Was a fast-rising and very talented young SBR race driver just moving into the Pro ranks when his life was cut short at Mid-Ohio doing what he loved most: road racing.

Jack Boone

Helped create the South Bend Region Tech Team in the late 1950s to provide the Chicago Region with tech inspection at the June Sprints and pro races at Road America for many years.

Harold Miller Sr.

Was an amateur H Modified race driver and the trophy is named for his son, who was a true enthusiast who died much too young.

The Red Bud

Trophy is one of our oldest and is awarded to the highest scoring member at the year's regional competitive events. Originally, it included both rallies and gymkhanas, but eventually came to include just SBR solo events.

The Eleanore "Elly" Thomas

Was the female counterpart to the Red Bud, and awarded to the highest placed female in rallies and gymkhanas, now limited to regional solo competition.

The Jeanne Ruble

Is in honor of one of the hardest working SBR members of all time. Jeanne held many SBR offices including R.E. and was a mainstay at every solo, creating systems for scoring used by many other clubs in the days of pencil and paper.

Betty "Cookie" Walker

Was a very early member and could be counted on to do just about anything to help at events, meetings, and social events.

The Busted Piston

While the original trophy was lost many years ago, it's been awarded at the end of every monthly SBR event (rally or gymkhana) to the member with the poorest score, but who did compete and finish. Now it is an annual trophy normally awarded to a member who had major problems while competing during the year.

Curtis Thews Award

Was established in 2014 and is given to a SBR member who has made contributions to the club above and beyond all expectations. Curtis was a founding member of SBR and devoted countless hours to the club.